ICT & Computing


Mrs A Chesterman – Head of Department

Mrs A Gronow-Brown – Teacher of ICT and Computing

Department Aims

What is the future of technology? Where will it take us? At The John Frost School, we continually monitor and adapt our curriculum to ensure that students become digitally competent citizens which will prepare them for tomorrow’s employment – many jobs of which have not yet been created. A key role of the ICT department is to prepare students for life after school and our courses provide a valuable real world experience as well as qualifications that aid progression to further or higher education. We have high expectations of students at all levels of ability. It is essential to inculcate a sense of purpose and success at appropriate levels by clarifying realistic goals that are relevant to the students; this means active participation by students in learning and assessment.

Key Stage Three

What makes a computer work? Do we code or become end users? How safe are we? As students progress through Key Stage Three, they will develop skills and knowledge required to progress as competent digital citizens. Students receive one lesson of ICT per fortnight. At The John Frost School, we aim to develop students’ independent learning skills and encourage them to be creative thinkers. Following the ICT Skills Framework, we keep abreast of digital technology across society. Our learners experience traditional skills alongside: Coding; Creative Multimedia; Communicating; Modelling; Databases and Exchanging and Sharing Information.

Key Stage Four

New students to Key Stage Four will study WJEC GCSE Computer Science and The British Computer Society ECDL. Some learners may also follow a Level 1 qualification in IT. The GCSE Computer Science qualification for the current Year 11 consists of an external assessment worth 45%, a practical external assessment worth 30% and a controlled assessment worth 25%. Year 10 will follow the new WJEC Computer Science GCSE which comprises a written examination worth 50%, an on-screen examination worth 30% and a non-exam assessment (20 hours) which is worth 20% of the final grade. Computer Science will develop valuable skills for students to pursue a career in Computer Science and will help our learners to play an active and effective role in the digital world. The ECDL is a Level 2 IT qualification, worth one GCSE. It is made up of four units, with each unit being assessed by a final online eternal examination. All units must be passed to achieve the qualification.

Key Stage Five

Students are offered BTEC Level 3 Creative Media Production or IT to Extended Certificate level (A Level equivalence). They can also access A Level Computer Science and IT through our collaboration programme. Our results are traditionally very good and students are encouraged to be independent and effective learners in preparation for further or higher education.

The department believes in equal opportunities for all students. Our staff are part of a hardworking team who are prepared to share responsibilities and teaching commitment so that all students achieve their full potential at each key stage. Lunchtime and after school sessions are offered to all students to help improve their coursework and examination technique.

“Our ICT lessons are great for learning new skills and finding out information” Emily Pritchard


Just some of the great images of students from The John Frost School.